2018 Girls Yoshanny Rahm Invitational

Healdsburg’s Gabriella Peterson put on a one woman show as she ran away from the competition at the Yoshanny Rahm Invitational in Ukiah.

Healdsburg’s Gabriella Peterson ran strong and relaxed through the first two miles of the Yoshanny Rahm Invitational on the Ukiah high campus before leaving the other 50+ varsity runners in her dust as she won the 5K race in 19:14 by over 90 seconds.
“I was saving it in the beginning because I knew the hills were coming.” said Peterson of the fact that she would need to power up a steep hill near the end of the race. “I felt good and really excited once I had finished the last hill.”
Arcata took the team championship over the 11 other schools as they easily won with a 54 point score.

Course Record:
17:58 Amber Trotter, National Champion, Ukiah 11/18/00,
next 18:12 Sara Bei, National Champion, Montgomery 11/18/00

1. 12 Gabrielle Peterson 19:14 Healdsburg
2. 12 Riley Martel-Phillips 20:50 Arcata
3. 10 Emilia Obilites 20:59 Novato
4. 9 Dylan Hutchinson 21:43 Fort Bragg
5. 9 Ruby Loe 21:59.42 Piner
6. 9 Silvia Kambouridis 21:59.92 Skyline
7. 10 Vivian Gerstein 22:00 Arcata
8. 12 Dara Goldfein 22:14 Athenian
9. 12 Natalie Bozeman 22:17 Healdsburg
10. 12 Thea Norlund 22:20 Arcata
Complete Results

Dash from the starting line.

Tackling the first hill top runners pull away.

Only Arcata’s Riley Martel-Phillips is able to stay with Peterson early on.

Runners are spread thin after the first challenging hill.

After coming down from the first hill Martel-Phillips is still hanging with Peterson.

Nearing midway point it was still a two person race.

As they prepare for the next major hill portion Peterson has now started to pull away.

A real gap is now visible.

Having completed the final hill portion Peterson has opened up a huge lead.

Peterson sprints to the end finishing in 19:14 for a 1:36 margin of victory.

Martel-Phillips finishes second in 20:50.

Novato’s Emilia Obilites crosses in 20:59 for third.

Fort Bragg freshman Dylan Hutchinson is 4th in 21:43.

5th through 7th are Piner’s Ruby Loe, Skyline’s Silvia Kambouridis and Arcata’s Vivian Gerstein all in 22:00.

JV Complete Results

Yoshaany Community Race 2018