TEASER PAGE: NBL Marks That Did Not Win

Soon I will be posting the best marks ever performed in the NBL Boys finals for each of the top eight places.
Here is a teaser to that of the marks that only earned second place that year.
Hard to believe these didn’t win.

The 2015 NBL 100 finals produced the fastest FAT time ever at 10.97 by Tommy Streb, Cardinal Newman, the fastest 2nd place ever by Ian Hurculson, Maria Carrillo (11.00 ) and the fastest thrid place time of 11.13 by Justin Zinnerman, Rancho Cotate. Photo by Michael Lucid

Second Place Marks

100 METERS 11.00 Ian Hurculson, Maria Carrillo +0.2 2015

200 METERS 22.04 Jeremy Grant, Elsie Allen 1997, only Hurculson’s 2016 win has been faster since.

400 METERS 49.86 Shane Sanders, Cardinal Newman 1997

800 METERS 1:55.27a Dan Aldridge, Petaluma 1:55.7y 1974, faster than all the winners since 1975

1600 METERS 4:18.54a Jon Sisler, Petaluma 4:19.8y 1973, only three years since has a winner run this fast.

3200 METERS 9:26.34a Jim Noonan, Montgomery 1979 9:29.4y, only two other years have had a faster winner than this.

110m HIGH HURDLES 14.68a Jim Brown, Santa Rosa 14.4y 1971

300m INTERMEDIATE HURDLES 38.92 Chris Barnsdale, Montgomery 1996, only one year faster than this

4x100m Relay 43.76 Rancho Cotate 2011

4x400m Relay 3:22.16a Vallejo 3:23.1y 1973, faster than all the winners since 1987.

HIGH JUMP 6-7 Erik Birkenes, Piner 1988 & 1989

POLE VAULT 14-9 Jake Arnold, Maria Carrillo 2002, only Matt Tillingast has a higher vault in the finals.

LONG JUMP 22-6 Josh Heady, Ukiah 1992, farther than all the winners since 1993.

TRIPLE JUMP 45-6¾ Jeff Johnson, Petaluma 1981, farther than all the winners since 1982.

SHOT PUT 53-6½ Dave Wright, Petaluma 1981

DISCUS 166-1 Dennis DeSoto, Santa Rosa 1981, only one since 1982 has thrown farther.